From the Desk of the International President…

August 13, 2022

Belatedly, many thanks to Immediate Past President Blanton Bessinger for organizing and conducting the successful ‘virtual’ 2022 Annual General Meeting, held on Saturday, June 18. 

As a result of the AGM, your 2022-23 Executive Council is:  Peter Carter (myself) President, Dan Durbin, 1st Vice President, and Mike Eisner, 2nd Vice President, Blanton Bessinger, Immediate Past President (IPIP), and Matthew Johnson Secretary/Treasurer.  To Alan Pentney, the departing IPIP, we give thanks for his leadership and contributions, to the Executive Council, over the years.  And, last but not least, we welcome Mike Eisner, to the Executive Council.  Mike has been committed to Gyro, having served as the President of Blacklake Club, Governor of District 9, and for the past three years has served, and continues to serve, on the Membership Committee.

For full details of the AGM, you can find the Minutes on our website:

Although the International Award recipients are listed in the AGM Minutes, because the efforts of the recipients are so important to our organization, I would like to recognize them, again:

Internal Expansion

  1. Large Club:                      Minneapolis Metro, District 7
  2. Medium Club:                 Marion, District 1
  3. Small Club:                      Port Colborne Niagara South, District 3

Best Club Bulletin

  1. Large Club:           Calgary, District 8
  2. Medium Club:      Winnipeg, District 7
  3. Small Club:           Fresno, District 9

Governor’s Bulletin:                     Derek Hay, Winnipeg Club, District 7

Best Website:                                 Canton, District 1

George France Award:                 Don Patterson, Fraser Delta Club, District 4

Honor Key:                                      Alan Pentney, Stampede City Club, District 8

Bud Mitchell Gyro of the Year:  Derm Jackman, Castlegar Club, District 8

Thank you, one and all, for your contributions to Gyro!

With the new Executive Council, in place, we quickly had our first meeting, on June 22, and our first task was to Appoint the Committee Chairs.  They are:

Membership:                    Mike Eisner, with Larry Duba as Vice-Chair

Structural Task Force:   Dan Durbin, continues as Chair

Technology:                      Derm Jackman, continues as Chair and Webmaster

Another important item on the EC Agenda was to set a Goal for 2022-23 and that was quickly established; to emphasis and promote membership growth, to our wonderful organization!

We then had our first Board of Governors meeting, on July 6, before taking our summer break, with things starting up again in September.

By way of background, my President’s Newsletter, is a bit late because the week after the BOG meeting, Eileen and I went on a 16-day Expedition Cruise of Greenland, something totally different and most enjoyable.  Hopefully, you are a believer of “better late than never”.

In closing, I hope everyone is having an enjoyable summer!

Yours in Gyro Friendship,

PS. Please feel free to contact me at:


Past International President’s Newsletters